River Tree Grains

This restaurant is getting a lot of buzz right now, so I decided to check it out for lunch and was pleasantly surprized at the freshness of the food.

I grazed on the chicken salad sandwich on whole-grain bread and a cup of butternut squash soup. I was most impressed with the texture and graininess of the bread—it really tasted homemade. It’s hard to find “whole-grain” bread at a restaurant that actually is whole grain. The chicken salad, with walnuts and grapes, was flavorful and light. The butternut squash soup totally rocked my world. You could taste the creamy, buttery flavor and texture of the squash, and it wasn’t thinned-out with stock.

The price is comparable, but I have to say I’m a little confused about the name. It’s hard to say and hard to remember. The name and identity (sorry, the designer in me can’t help but come out) leaves me a little underwhelmed, but they make up for it by displaying local art for sale.

I give River Tree Grains 4 out of 5 stars.

16350 Blanco Rd
San Antonio, TX 78232
http://www.rivertreegrains.com

River Tree Grains on Urbanspoon

About this entry