Chuy’s

Chuy’s is another of my go-to restaurants. I’m completely beside myself for the Chicken Fajita Quesadilla. I’ve been ordering them the same way for the past 5 years, which is why they know my order by heart—Chicken Fajita Quesadillas on Wheat Tortillas with Creamy Jalapeno Ranch for dipping. There is nothing particularly flashy about them, but they are so good that I crave them about once a week. Chuy’s is one of the few places in town where you can get wheat tortillas (I’m a big fan). They tried to do away with them last year, but enough of us die-hards complained and they brought them back.

There is also many other great items on their menu. Among my favorites are: Grilled Shrimp Tacos, Mexi-Cobb Salad, Fajitas, the Big as ‘Yo Face Burritos, and complementary push-up pops for the kids’ dessert. And I have to mention the Texas Martini—it’s sort of like a Margarita on the rocks with a jalapenos stuffed olive, served in a shaker accompanied by a martini glass with a salted rim.

I’ve actually been known to visit Chuy’s 2-3 times a week on a regular basis. The food is priced well, they have a good happy hour including free chips, salsa, beans, meat, and queso served right up from the trunk of a vintage Chrysler DeSoto (i.e. the nacho car), and it has a great patio (I’m crazy for patio dining).

Chuy’s is bright, colorful, and all about the festivals, which is what gives it the “Austin” vibe (well, that, and because it started in Austin). Be sure to stop in every January 8th for Elvis’ Birthday Bash. You don’t want to miss the commemorative giveaways (like Elvis sideburns), Elvis impersonators, or the costume contest.

My very favorite time of year is late summer, during the Hatch Green Chile Festival. Chuy’s makes special dishes (including desserts) with the freshly-roasted-out-front Hatch Chiles, and has lots of fun commemorative freebies for the whole family.

There is so much about Chuy’s that separates it from every other run-of-the-mill eatery. Next time you decide to visit, bring a framed picture of your dog to be displayed on the wall (and check out my big picture of my two Yorkies right by the patio door).

I give Chuy’s 5 out of 5 stars.

18008 San Pedro Ave
San Antonio, TX 78232
(210) 545-0300
http://www.chuys.com

Chuy's on Urbanspoon

About this entry