Water Street Oyster Bar

Bored with our usual fair, my husband and I decided to give Water Street Oyster Bar a try for our dinner and a movie date night. The restaurant has been there for years, the online menu peeked my interest, and it was close to a movie theatre.

[On a brief side note: I'm usually a don't-judge-a-book-by-its-cover kinda girl, but I must say that this notion is completely thrown out the window when I walk into a restaurant. I can usually tell within the first two seconds of walking into a restaurant if I'm going to like it or not. I'm very big on ambiance as well as a great tasting fare. When a restaurant can hit both marks, it's magical.]

The first thing you see when you walk into Water Street Oyster Bar is a massive painting of a man out fishing on the high seas, and what appears out of the ominous fog is none other than the Alamo. Pretty cheesy. I realize though as I look around, that I’m not their target audience. Next to the toddler banging on the next table, we are the some of the youngest people in the room.

I ordered a blackened Mahi Mahi with Nueces Sause. It turns out that it sounded more interesting than it tasted. The fish could have been tilapia for all I knew because it was so heavily blackened that you couldn’t taste the fish, and it also over-powered the crawfish laced sauce. I changed my order to Mushroom-Brandy Trout. I was prepared to be underwhelmed, but I was actually surprised. The trout tasted fresher than the mahi (although neither one tasted like it was actually caught that day) and the mushroom sauce was the perfect compliment. The vegetables, on the other hand, were a disappointing and previously frozen medley.

I also need to add that to get a feeling of the heart of the restaurant, you need to check out the restroom. If the restroom is clean, well-planned and thought out, in most cases so is the kitchen. My visit to the restroom at the Water Street Oyster Bar was a little…funny. It was as if all the interior design money was spent on the real granite counter top, because the stalls were spray-on granitized. That along with the “Caution: scalding hot water” signs was too much.

Overall the dinner was fine, but unmemorable, and a little too pricey for previously frozen seafood. I would give it a 2 stars (out of 5).

To read my husband’s review on this restaurant, visit http://www.urbanspoon.com
Water Street Oyster Bar
7500 Broadway St
San Antonio, TX 78209
(210) 829-4853
http://www.waterstreetrestaurants.com

Water Street Oyster Bar on Urbanspoon

About this entry